Friday Five • Gear: Canon 100mm Macro Lens

A lot of the photographer blogs that I read include “What’s In My Bag?” types of posts, so I thought I might share something I recently added to my collection of gear. The Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 macro USM. I love, love, love this lens. I spent a lot of time debating whether to purchase this or the L version, which is nearly twice as expensive. However, after spending a lot of time researching, reading customer reviews, and stalking photos on flickr, I decided that this one was the right choice for me.

I never thought I would be “into” macro photography, but was I wrong. It is so much fun! The first thing I had to force myself to do was stop shooting so wide open. Smaller apertures (bigger numbers) is the way to go to achieve the most detail in those up-close shots. And…gulp…even using an external flash can push some good images to be great. The thing I like about this lens is that it also makes an excellent portrait lens. In fact, it’s almost too good. It picks up every single detail to the sharpest extent that a little skin softening in Lightroom is almost always in order. Here are five nonportrait images taken with this lens. Definitely a learning curve with this piece of equipment, but I am loving it all the same!

I hope that by the time next Friday rolls around, I’ll be able to do another gear post featuring my new camera bag! Be sure to check back then (if not sooner!).

Leave a Reply

